Your Body, Your Birth, Your Baby - antenatal course for pregnant women living in the Hutt Valley to attend with their partner/support person.

  • 11 July
    9 weeks, 07:00 PM NZST - 09:00 PM NZST
    Upper Hutt
    9-week course on Thursday evenings
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Thu 11 Jul 19:00 NZST - Thu 11 Jul 21:00 NZST
    Upper Hutt
    Session 2
    Thu 18 Jul 19:00 NZST - Thu 18 Jul 21:00 NZST
    Upper Hutt
    Session 3
    Thu 25 Jul 19:00 NZST - Thu 25 Jul 21:00 NZST
    Upper Hutt
    Session 4
    Thu 01 Aug 19:00 NZST - Thu 01 Aug 21:00 NZST
    Upper Hutt
    Session 5
    Thu 08 Aug 19:00 NZST - Thu 08 Aug 21:00 NZST
    Upper Hutt
    Session 6
    Thu 15 Aug 19:00 NZST - Thu 15 Aug 21:00 NZST
    Upper Hutt
    Session 7
    Thu 22 Aug 19:00 NZST - Thu 22 Aug 21:00 NZST
    Upper Hutt
    Session 8
    Thu 29 Aug 19:00 NZST - Thu 29 Aug 21:00 NZST
    Upper Hutt
    Session 9
    Thu 05 Sep 19:00 NZST - Thu 05 Sep 21:00 NZST
    Upper Hutt
    • Free
    Event is fullJoin waiting list
  • 26 September
    9 weeks, 07:00 PM NZST - 10:00 PM NZDT
    Upper Hutt
    9 weeks, Thursday evenings
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Thu 26 Sep 19:00 NZST - Thu 26 Sep 21:00 NZST
    Upper Hutt
    Session 2
    Thu 03 Oct 19:00 NZDT - Thu 03 Oct 21:00 NZDT
    Upper Hutt
    Session 3
    Thu 10 Oct 19:00 NZDT - Thu 10 Oct 21:00 NZDT
    Upper Hutt
    Session 4
    Thu 17 Oct 19:00 NZDT - Thu 17 Oct 21:00 NZDT
    Upper Hutt
    Session 5
    Thu 24 Oct 19:00 NZDT - Thu 24 Oct 21:00 NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    Session 6
    Thu 31 Oct 19:00 NZDT - Thu 31 Oct 21:00 NZDT
    Upper Hutt
    Session 7
    Thu 07 Nov 19:00 NZDT - Thu 07 Nov 21:00 NZDT
    Upper Hutt
    Session 8
    Thu 14 Nov 19:00 NZDT - Thu 14 Nov 21:00 NZDT
    Upper Hutt
    Session 9
    Thu 21 Nov 19:00 NZDT - Thu 21 Nov 21:00 NZDT
    Upper Hutt
    • Free

Description

BodyBirthBabyThis FREE course will prepare you for giving birth and what to expect in those first weeks with your new baby.

Some of the topics covered over 9 weeks;

  • Nutrition, pregnancy safety and general health issues
  • What midwives and doctors do for you
  • The pregnant and birthing body
  • Labour overview and stages
  • Birth choices
  • Self-help during labour and birth
  • Pain management
  • Delivery suite tour
  • Your newborn’s needs
  • Breastfeeding
  • After the birth
  • The baby check
  • Jaundice
  • Vitamin K
  • The Guthrie test
  • Caring for your baby
  • Parenting in the early days
  • Postnatal depression and taking care of you
  • Support and help services
  • Visit from ‘new’ parents

This is a funded and free course.