Your Birth Essentials - an antenatal course for pregnant women living in the Hutt Valley to attend with their partner/support person

  • 09 January
    7 weeks, 10:00 AM NZDT - 12:00 PM NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    5 weeks, Saturdays 10am - 12pm
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Sat 09 Jan 10:00 NZDT - Sat 09 Jan 12:00 NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    Session 2
    Sat 16 Jan 10:00 NZDT - Sat 16 Jan 12:00 NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    Session 3
    Sat 30 Jan 10:00 NZDT - Sat 30 Jan 12:00 NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    Session 4
    Sat 13 Feb 10:00 NZDT - Sat 13 Feb 12:00 NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    Session 5
    Sat 20 Feb 10:00 NZDT - Sat 20 Feb 12:00 NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    • Free
    Register1 place remaining
  • 10 February
    5 weeks, 07:00 PM NZDT - 09:00 PM NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    5 weeks, Wednesday evenings 7pm-9pm
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Wed 10 Feb 19:00 NZDT - Wed 10 Feb 21:00 NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    Session 2
    Wed 17 Feb 19:00 NZDT - Wed 17 Feb 21:00 NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    Session 3
    Wed 24 Feb 19:00 NZDT - Wed 24 Feb 21:00 NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    Session 4
    Wed 03 Mar 19:00 NZDT - Wed 03 Mar 21:00 NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    Session 5
    Wed 10 Mar 19:00 NZDT - Wed 10 Mar 21:00 NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    • Free
  • 27 February
    5 weeks, 10:00 AM NZDT - 12:00 PM NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    5 weeks, Saturdays 10am - 12pm
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Sat 27 Feb 10:00 NZDT - Sat 27 Feb 12:00 NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    Session 2
    Sat 06 Mar 10:00 NZDT - Sat 06 Mar 12:00 NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    Session 3
    Sat 13 Mar 10:00 NZDT - Sat 13 Mar 12:00 NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    Session 4
    Sat 20 Mar 10:00 NZDT - Sat 20 Mar 12:00 NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    Session 5
    Sat 27 Mar 10:00 NZDT - Sat 27 Mar 12:00 NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    • Free
  • 01 May
    7 weeks, 10:00 AM NZST - 12:00 PM NZST
    Lower Hutt
    5 weeks, Saturdays 10am - 12pm
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Sat 01 May 10:00 NZST - Sat 01 May 12:00 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    Session 2
    Sat 08 May 10:00 NZST - Sat 08 May 12:00 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    Session 3
    Sat 22 May 10:00 NZST - Sat 22 May 12:00 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    Session 4
    Sat 05 Jun 10:00 NZST - Sat 05 Jun 12:00 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    Session 5
    Sat 12 Jun 10:00 NZST - Sat 12 Jun 12:00 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    • Free
None of these dates work for you? Suggest another date & time

Description

Man BumpThis is a FREE course, but only to those who reside in the Hutt Valley as it is funded by the HVDHB.

This course will prepare you for giving birth and what to expect in those first weeks with your new baby.

Some of the topics covered over 5 weeks;

  • Nutrition, pregnancy safety and general health issues
  • What midwives and doctors do for you
  • The pregnant and birthing body
  • Labour overview and stages
  • Birth choices
  • Self-help during labour and birth
  • Pain management
  • Breastfeeding
  • After the birth
  • Parenting in the early days
  • Postnatal depression and taking care of you
  • Support and help services

We recommend you also book into a ‘Your New Baby’ course as this will give you valuable information about taking care of your baby. Check out our other ‘follow on’ courses – Homebirth, Breastfeeding Masterclass, Keeping Your Baby Safe and Out of the Blues

This is a funded and FREE course.