Comprehensive Information = Informed decision making + Support = Empowered Parents. This course will prepare you for giving birth and what to expect in those first weeks with your new baby.

  • 01 March
    8 weeks, 07:00 PM NZDT - 09:00 PM NZST
    Lower Hutt
    7 Weeks: 7pm-9pm
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Mon 01 Mar 19:00 NZDT - Mon 01 Mar 21:00 NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    Session 2
    Mon 08 Mar 19:00 NZDT - Mon 08 Mar 21:00 NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    session 3
    Mon 15 Mar 19:00 NZDT - Mon 15 Mar 21:00 NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    Session 4
    Mon 22 Mar 19:00 NZDT - Mon 22 Mar 21:00 NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    Session 5
    Mon 29 Mar 19:00 NZDT - Mon 29 Mar 21:00 NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    Session 6
    Mon 12 Apr 19:00 NZST - Mon 12 Apr 21:00 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    Session 7
    Mon 19 Apr 19:00 NZST - Mon 19 Apr 21:00 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    • $169.57 excl. GST
    Event is fullJoin waiting list
  • 18 March
    7 weeks, 07:00 PM NZDT - 09:00 PM NZST
    Lower Hutt
    7 weeks Thursday 7-9pm
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Thu 18 Mar 19:00 NZDT - Thu 18 Mar 21:00 NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    Session 2
    Thu 25 Mar 19:00 NZDT - Thu 25 Mar 21:00 NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    session 3
    Thu 01 Apr 19:00 NZDT - Thu 01 Apr 21:00 NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    Session 4
    Thu 08 Apr 19:00 NZST - Thu 08 Apr 21:00 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    Session 5
    Thu 15 Apr 19:00 NZST - Thu 15 Apr 21:00 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    Session 6
    Thu 22 Apr 19:00 NZST - Thu 22 Apr 21:00 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    Session 7
    Thu 29 Apr 19:00 NZST - Thu 29 Apr 21:00 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    • $169.57 excl. GST
    Register5 places remaining
  • 03 May
    8 weeks, 07:00 PM NZST - 09:00 PM NZST
    Lower Hutt
    7 weeks Monday 7-9pm
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Mon 03 May 19:00 NZST - Mon 03 May 21:00 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    Session 2
    Mon 10 May 19:00 NZST - Mon 10 May 21:00 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    session 3
    Mon 17 May 19:00 NZST - Mon 17 May 21:00 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    Session 4
    Mon 24 May 19:00 NZST - Mon 24 May 21:00 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    Session 5
    Mon 31 May 19:00 NZST - Mon 31 May 21:00 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    Session 6
    Mon 14 Jun 19:00 NZST - Mon 14 Jun 21:00 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    Session 7
    Mon 21 Jun 19:00 NZST - Mon 21 Jun 21:00 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    • $169.57 excl. GST
    Register4 places remaining
  • 27 May
    7 weeks, 07:00 PM NZST - 09:00 PM NZST
    Lower Hutt
    7 wks, Thursday 7-9pm
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Thu 27 May 19:00 NZST - Thu 27 May 21:00 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    Session 2
    Thu 03 Jun 19:00 NZST - Thu 03 Jun 21:00 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    session 3
    Thu 10 Jun 19:00 NZST - Thu 10 Jun 21:00 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    Session 4
    Thu 17 Jun 19:00 NZST - Thu 17 Jun 21:00 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    Session 5
    Thu 24 Jun 19:00 NZST - Thu 24 Jun 21:00 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    Session 6
    Thu 01 Jul 19:00 NZST - Thu 01 Jul 21:00 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    Session 7
    Thu 08 Jul 19:00 NZST - Thu 08 Jul 21:00 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    • $169.57 excl. GST
  • 28 June
    7 weeks, 07:00 PM NZST - 09:00 PM NZST
    Lower Hutt
    7wks, Monday 7-9pm
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Mon 28 Jun 19:00 NZST - Mon 28 Jun 21:00 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    Session 2
    Mon 05 Jul 19:00 NZST - Mon 05 Jul 21:00 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    session 3
    Mon 12 Jul 19:00 NZST - Mon 12 Jul 21:00 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    Session 4
    Mon 19 Jul 19:00 NZST - Mon 19 Jul 21:00 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    Session 5
    Mon 26 Jul 19:00 NZST - Mon 26 Jul 21:00 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    Session 6
    Mon 02 Aug 19:00 NZST - Mon 02 Aug 21:00 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    Session 7
    Mon 09 Aug 19:00 NZST - Mon 09 Aug 21:00 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    • $169.57 excl. GST
None of these dates work for you? Suggest another date & time

Description

We love to support new parents and we want you and your support partner to have access to the most up-to-date childbirth information, so you are empowered to make informed choices, for both yourselves and your new family. At birthEd we know the importance of how crucial support is when we have a baby. We also know the friendships, that you will develop from sharing this experience,and being at a similar stage in life as others, will be treasured.

We want you to give you an opportunity to meet and join others beginning their parenting journey. Your birthEd childbirth class is the perfect place to start new friendships. Join your group’s closed Facebook group, where members can continue conversations, and share experiences. Be part of a network to help guide and support each other.

This course will prepare you for giving birth and what to expect in those first weeks with your new baby
Some of the topics covered over 7 weeks;
Pregnancy and Birth

  • Nutrition, pregnancy safety and general health issues
  • What midwives and doctors do for you
  • Your magnificent pregnant and birthing body
  • Natural Birth
  • Labour overview and stages
  • Birth choices
  • Self-help during labour and birth
  • How support partners can help
  • Pain management, assisted delivery and medical interventions

Your Baby

  • Your Newborn
  • Breastfeeding
  • Your baby’s checks and assessments
  • Caring for your baby
  • The Essentials: Clothing, bedding, bathing and nappies
  • The early days

You

  • Taking care of you
  • Taking care of each other
  • Your transition to parenthood
  • Your new roles
  • Postnatal Distress
  • Your Superpowers, Support and help services
  • Your next steps

You will also receive each session’s ‘Takeaways’ and a member’s login to access more resources online.

We recommend that you also book into a 'Get Baby Ready' course as this will give you further valuable information about taking care of your baby. Check out our other 'follow on' courses - Homebirth, Breastfeeding Masterclass, Keeping Your Baby Safe and Out of the Blues.