Your Body, Your Birth, Your Baby - antenatal course for pregnant women aged 24 and under living in the Hutt Valley to attend with their partner/support person. This is the same content as the main 9-week courses but intended for younger Mums and is usually held at Vibe in Lower Hutt. You want to be starting this 9-week course around the 26th - 28th week of your pregnancy.

  • 15 July
    9 weeks, 05:30 PM NZST - 07:30 PM NZST
    Lower Hutt
    Over 9 weeks - skipping 28th Oct - Labour Day
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Mon 15 Jul 17:30 NZST - Mon 15 Jul 19:30 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    Session 2
    Mon 22 Jul 17:30 NZST - Mon 22 Jul 19:30 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    Session 3
    Mon 29 Jul 17:30 NZST - Mon 29 Jul 19:30 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    Session 4
    Mon 05 Aug 17:30 NZST - Mon 05 Aug 19:30 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    Session 5
    Mon 12 Aug 17:30 NZST - Mon 12 Aug 19:30 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    Session 6
    Mon 19 Aug 17:30 NZST - Mon 19 Aug 19:30 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    Session 7
    Mon 26 Aug 17:30 NZST - Mon 26 Aug 19:30 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    Session 8
    Mon 02 Sep 17:30 NZST - Mon 02 Sep 19:30 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    Session 9
    Mon 09 Sep 17:30 NZST - Mon 09 Sep 19:30 NZST
    Lower Hutt
    • Free
  • 30 September
    9 weeks, 05:30 PM NZDT - 07:30 PM NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    2 hours a week over 9 weeks, Monday Evenings
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Mon 30 Sep 17:30 NZDT - Mon 30 Sep 19:30 NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    Session 2
    Mon 07 Oct 17:30 NZDT - Mon 07 Oct 19:30 NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    Session 3
    Mon 14 Oct 17:30 NZDT - Mon 14 Oct 19:30 NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    Session 4
    Mon 21 Oct 17:30 NZDT - Mon 21 Oct 19:30 NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    Session 5
    Mon 04 Nov 17:30 NZDT - Mon 04 Nov 19:30 NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    Session 6
    Mon 11 Nov 17:30 NZDT - Mon 11 Nov 19:30 NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    Session 7
    Mon 18 Nov 17:30 NZDT - Mon 18 Nov 19:30 NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    Session 8
    Mon 25 Nov 17:30 NZDT - Mon 25 Nov 19:30 NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    Session 9
    Mon 25 Nov 17:30 NZDT - Mon 25 Nov 19:30 NZDT
    Lower Hutt
    • Free
None of these dates work for you? Suggest another date & time

Description

This FREE course will prepare you for giving birth and what to expect in those first weeks with your new baby.

You want to be starting this 9-week course around the 26th - 28th week of your pregnancy.

Some of the topics covered over 9 weeks;

  • Nutrition, pregnancy safety and general health issues
  • What midwives and doctors do for you
  • The pregnant and birthing body
  • Labour overview and stages
  • Birth choices
  • Self-help during labour and birth
  • Pain management
  • Delivery suite tour
  • Your newborn’s needs
  • Breastfeeding
  • After the birth
  • The baby check
  • Jaundice
  • Vitamin K
  • The Guthrie test
  • Caring for your baby
  • Parenting in the early days
  • Postnatal depression and taking care of you
  • Support and help services
  • Visit from ‘new’ parents

This is a FREE course, but only to those living in the Hutt Valley as it is funded by the HVDHB.